Home » New Board of Directors Inaugurated at Kenya Meat Commission

New Board of Directors Inaugurated at Kenya Meat Commission

Livestock Principal Secretary, Harry Kimutai, has inaugurated a new Kenya Meat Commission board and CEO James ole Serian.

Newly unveiled KMC board members with PS, Livestock Harry Kimutai (middle front row).

Kimutai represented Mwangi Kiunjuri, the Cabinet Secretary for Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries, and Blue Economy in the inauguration of the new team at the commission’s head office in Athi River.

Speaking during the occasion, Kimutai reminded the new CEO and directors of the heavy task ahead of them.

“A developed meat industry means quality meat products, well thought out strategies, an expanded meat market connecting the entire country, and enough skilled labour, locally sourced, to build it all,” he said.

He went on; “Developing the meat sector is no mean feat. It relies on stakeholder buy in, inter-agency cooperation and a strong team to steer the ship. You have been given a chance to write history, and the policies that you enact will have an impact for generations to come. “

Outgoing Managing Commissioner, Joseph Learamo highlighted the commission’s achievements over the past three years in his tenure, particularly the modernization efforts as well as implementation of various initiatives aimed at stabilizing and turning around the business.

Learamo said he also helped the organization enhance resource mobilization from the private sector through embracing public private partnerships (PPP) in order to augment resources from the exchequer.

He said most recently the inclusion of corned beef as a strategic food reserve towards the country’s food security & nutrition in line with the government’s big four agenda was a move to the right direction.

“These and other key achievements such as the successful roll-out of the offtake programme in ASAL areas, award of the ISO 22000:2005 certification, and the team continues to aim towards a well-coordinated and developed meat industry,” Learamo added.

Kimutai said KMC’s board of directors is made up of eleven members, representing various stakeholders in the industry.

They are; Ntoros Ole Senteu (chairman), Andrew Mokaya, Adam Didha, Ali Hassan, Amb. Rashid Ali, Annette Kithu, Julius Kiptarus, Francis Kariuki, Susan Kipketer, Nicholas Ayore, and Seriani (New Managing Commissioner).

The directors are appointed by the Cabinet Secretary from the respective organizations and serve for a term of three years while the chairman is a Presidential Appointee.



Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: