Timber Harvesting Is Suspended As water Shortage Bites Across Kenya

Kajiado News Update

Kajiado News Update

We are bold in presenting our news as we move to all Maa counties across the country.

By Agencies.


Dry taps everywhere.

The Government has temporarily suspended timber harvesting for 90 days in all forests over the acute water shortage witnessed across the country.

During the 90-day moratorium, the state plans to review and rationalise the entire forest sector in Kenya and propose mitigations to curb the dry taps.

“Deforestation, degradation and encroachment of water towers and other catchment areas coupled with uncontrolled human activities including wanton logging have threatened and undermined our country’s capability to ensure food security.

This situation poses a threat to the achievement of the big four agenda items of the Jubilee Government,” Deputy President Ruto said in a statement.

The forests have been afflicted by vagaries of weather and illegal logging activities, climate change, pollution, human encroachment and diversion of water sources for agricultural use.

Ruto further directed the Keriako Tobiko-led Ministry of Environment and Forestry to form a task force which will give a detailed report on the remedial measures adopted within 14 days.

Major Kenyan rivers Tana and Ewaso Nyiro who are the main source of water for the arid north have been drying up. A situation also witnessed in Rivers Yala, Narumoru, Thegu, Likii, Burguret, Sagana, Gura,Ragati and those that flow from the slopes of Mount Elgon and Chereng’any hills.

Reports abound of residents bearing the brunt of long distance journeys in search of the elusive water which has exposed many to water-borne diseases as the scarcity bites. Environment experts have warned that if urgent measures are not put in place, the situation will snowball into a crisis.

Recently, humanitarian agency Kenya Red Cross began an intensive campaign to pool funds for the 3.4 million Kenyans who were facing drought.

“We need to respond before things become worse than they are. We should never allow any Kenyan to get to the tipping point,” Secretary General Abbas Gullet said.

The agency identified 10 counties; Mandera, Marsabit, Kitui and Taita Taveta, Garissa, Wajir, Isiolo, Tana River, Kajiado and Kilifi who are in the drought alarm phase.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Do you need a website? Search no more. BraIT Consulting Limited is an industry-leading & most reliable full-service web design company in Kenya. They also do digital marketing, graphic design, Search Engine Marketing (SEO), Content Marketing among others.

They design cost-effective and aesthetic websites, logos, and digital designs that will blow your mind. Take a sample look of their work below!

You May Also Like

UDA party MCA aspirant Dalmas Maato.

MCA aspirant Maato to build cabro roads in Kitengela Ward

“I sympathise with our people who use these roads to access the town and the market. How can this can be explained by the sitting MCA?” asked Maato.

Third from left is the former President of United Cities and Local Governments Africa Tarayia ole Kores.

Kores awarded UCLG Africa honorary member in Kisumu

Earlier in the day, Kores was allowed to take around Kenya’s former Prime Minister Raila Odinga to visit foreign African stalls at the summit.

Robert Masila joins F1 at Machakos School.

Well-wishers raise Sh112,300 to turn Masila’s dreams into reality

Deschamps, who lives in France, said she saw the touching story of Masila trending on social media and decided to help.

Subscribe to Kajiado
News Update

Be the first to get updated.